Introduction to the Vedic Nakshatras | Arriba Trends

Introduction to the Vedic Nakshatras

Vedic astrology is completely based on the planets and the constellations. In ancient times, when the sages observed the sky, they identified the different groups of constellations as Nakshatras. They divided it into 27 identical groups and named everyone according to their shape.


The Vedic way of time study is based on the Nakshatras and these depends on the movement of the Moon and the Sun. In the solar system, all the planets revolve around the Sun in their orbit. Referencing the earth, our entire universe is considered to spread in the angle of 360 ​​°. The 12 equal parts of the space i.e 300 each is said to be the space of the identical zodiac signs. Similarly, by dividing 27 Nakshatras in the 360 ​​° space, leaves the 13.33 ° of space for the individual Nakshatras. On this basis, there are about 2 to 3 Nakshatras in each zodiac signs.

The moon completes a round of the earth in 27 to 28 days. The path which the Moon follows while rotating passes through the different group of constellations. This conjunction of the moon and the constellations decides the Nakshatras. The traditional Indian months have been named after these Nakshatras.

At the time of birth of any person, the constellation in which the Moon will be or the constellation through which the moon is passing is considered to be his Nakshatra. These 27 Nakshatras are divided into the three major parts.

1- Auspicious Nakshatra – Auspicious Nakshatras are those in which the probability of the work done being successful is the maximum. It consists of 15 Nakshatras; Rohini, Ashwin, Mrigashira, Pushya, Hasta, Chitra, Revathi, Shravan, Swati, Anuradha, Uttarabhadrapada, Uttarashadha, Uttaraphalguni, Ghanishta and Punavasu.

2- Madhyam Nakshatra – It contains those in which the probability of being successful is mixed. It includes Purvafalguni, Purvashadha, Purvabhadrapada, Visakha, Jyestha, Ardra, Moola, Shatabhisa.

3- Inauspicious Nakshatra – These are the Nakshatras in which Auspicious work should not be done as the probability of being successful is said to be the least during these Nakshatras. It includes Bharani, Kritika, Magha, Ashlesha.

When the Moon is in the Aquarius and Pisces zodiac, the five nakshatras from Ghnishta to Revathi are called the Panchak. Auspicious actions are avoided in this time, even the funeral rites are prohibited in the Panchak period. Gandmool dosha is considered very inauspicious in astrology. Those born during the Ashwin, Ashlesha, Magha, Moola and Revathi Nakshatra are said to have Karma focused life i.e they have to strive harder to get the results throughout their life.

In the Vedic culture the first letter of the child’s name is extracted on the basis of the Nakshatra. Each Nakshatra is said to have its own ruling planet. Like:

  • Sun is the ruling planet for the Kritika, Uttaraphalguni and Uttarashadha Nakshatras.
  • Moon is the ruling planet of the Rohini, Hasta and Shravan.
  • Mars is the lord of Mrigashira, Chitra and Ghanishta.
  • Mercury dominates Ashlesha, Jyestha and Revathi.
  • Jupiter rules Punarvasu, Visakha and Purvabhadrapada.
  • Venus is the lord of Bharani, Purva Palguni and Purvashadha.
  • Saturn has authority over Pushya, Anuradha and Uttarabhadrapada.
  • Rahu is said to be the lord of Ardra, Swati and Shatabhisha.
  • And Ketu has been called the lord of Ashwin, Magha and the base Nakshatra.

In Vedic astrology Nakshatras indicate our personality and nature. The Nakshatra in which we are born in has an effect on our behaviour, lifestyle and personality. The birth Nakshatra provides a probable insight into a person’s characteristics, symptoms and the thought patterns along with this it also helps in determining the weaker astrological aspects of an individual.

Nakshatras are highly important in Vedic astrology for complete astrological analysis and accurate time study of any subject. The Nakshatras has the potential to change the life of any person with its influence. Even at the time of arrange marriages in the Vedic culture, the Nakshatras has the most importance while matching the horoscope of the bride and the groom.

error: Content is protected !!